Robotics Hobbyist

Best Printer for hobbiests?

im just starting out, and I was wondering what the best printers/programs/filaments for a person just getting their first printer would be. any thoughts?

Hi @yasha200215, welcome to the forums here. We hope to see you here often and help us grow as well as hopefully help you in this wonderful hobby.

In order to best help you a few things would be most beneficial for us to know.

• What type of item(s) are you thinking of printing or designing?
  • What type of Computer do you use? PC, MAC, Linux or something else?
  • What is your budget for software and hardware?

Are you looking to print things that others have created or are you looking to design your own things? I ask as you will want to consider a CAD program if you are looking to create your own items. I have a couple suggestions here.

• FreeCAD - Works on PC, MAC and Linux (as the name suggests it is free)
  • Fusion 360 - Works on PC and MAC (free for hobbyists and startups that make less than $1000 from the items created with the software
  • Shapr3D - Works on all iPads that have Apple Pencil Support (has a limited trial that is useful to learn with, but the Pro Version is currently $239.99 / year

I have used all of these and many others. Currently I use Fusion 360 on a PC and MAC often, you can check out some of my projects here in the forums with these programs. Be sure to check out the projects by @Romulus369 as well, he uses Solidworks and Shapr3D with the later being used frequently. He has many great projects created with Shapr3D that he has shared.

Many others here have projects as well, some of which they created and or downloaded and modified and shared here.

If you could help us understand how you intend to use the software and hardware we can help guide you. Please share your rough budget too so we can try to share items that will fit your budget.